ANU-UI Research Internship in Computer Science 2019


The ANU-UI Research Internship in Computer Science is an initiative between the Research School of Computer Science (RSCS) at the Australian National University (ANU) and the Faculty of Computer Science (Fasilkom) at Universitas Indonesia (UI), that is part of a broader research collaboration between the two universities. Under this Research Internship program, RSCS will host students or staff members from Fasilkom UI to participate in short-term research projects supervised by academic staff at RSCS.

The aims of this program are:

  • to strengthen research collaborations between the universities by engaging staff and students in both universities in joint research projects, and
  • to provide a pathway for UI undergraduate students, or UI staff who have not held doctoral degrees, to be considered for admission in the ANU PhD program. The PhD admission at RSCS requires the candidates to have an equivalent of ANU Bachelor’s degrees with Honours. A successful completion of the summer research program may be considered as having completed the equivalent of a 12 credit unit research project, which is a minimum requirement for admission into ANU PhD program.


For the initial phase, we will consider hosting 5 (five) scholars from UI. These will comprise of at least 3 (three) undergraduate students enrolled in Fasilkom UI in their final year of study. Fasilkom UI staff will be eligible to participate in this program subject to this minimal quota for students, so at the maximum, we will consider admitting 2 (two) UI teaching/research staff who do not yet hold a PhD degree.

The number and the composition of the eligible scholars are subject to change in the future depending on availability of funding and supervisors.

The UI student applicants should be enrolled or plan to enroll in the final year project course at UI, since the intention of the program is to encourage students to undertake further research degrees.

Applicants should have GPA of at least 3.2 (out of 4), which is the equivalent of ANU First Class Honours.

Updated:  10 August 2021/Responsible Officer:  Dean, CECS/Page Contact:  CECS Marketing