Awards and prizes - Humanitarian Engineering

Rebecca Watts

  • ANU Undergraduate Alumni of the Year 2016.  Regional Winner (Oceania) in Engineering discipline category in the 2016 Global Undergraduate Research Awards

Sam Cheah

  • 2015 ANU Tillyard Prize

Ben Gill

  • BE ANU Alumni Student Philanthropist of the Year 2017, ANU Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Reconciliation for Students 2016

Huy Nguyen

  • ANU Young Alumnus of the Year (Joint) 2014, ACT Young Australian of the Year 2014.

Thomas Larkin

  • ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science students, Thomas Larkin and Ellen Lynch, have taken out First Prize and the People’s Choice awards respectively at the Young Engineers Australia Undergraduate Project Presentation Competition

Ellen Lynch

  • 2018 EWB Undergraduate Research Project Best Presentation

Arbaz Khan

  • 2017 Engineers Australia Canberra Division Undergraduate Research Project Presentation Competition

Chris Browne

  • Australian Award for Teaching Excellence (Early Career) - Australian Awards for University Teaching, Office of Learning and Teaching 2014
  • Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence - Australian National University (ANU) 2014. Application based the Jigsaw Classroom used in ENGN2225/ENGN2226
  • Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence - College of Engineering and Computer Science (CECS) 2013. Application based the alignment of ENGN2225/ENGN2226
  • Moodleposium 2013, Best design for student interaction in a Moodle course, Pedagogical Content knowledge
  • International System Dynamics Conference 2012, Runner-up, Best Poster “Is it Really Greener in the Cloud?”(Poster)
  • Award for Excellence in Tutoring or Demonstrating (Nomination), ANU 2012
  • ResearchFest @ ANU 2011, Best Poster “Insulating Expectations - Can Ceiling Insulation Really Reduce Greenhouse Gas Emissions” (Poster)
  • Australian Water Association - OzWater’11, Undergraduate Research Prize, for excellence in the field of water studies and research “Analysis of Breakdown of Technology Transfer in Cambodia”
  • Australian Water Association - ACT Chapter, 2010 Undergraduate Research Prize (as above)

Jeremy Smith

  • Award for Teaching Excellence - Australian Awards for University Teaching, Department of Education and Training 2017
  • 2016 Office for Learning and Teaching Citation for Contributions that Enhance Student Learning for leadership in the field of engineering through the development of a sector leading enriching student humanitarian engineering pathway at ANU
  • 2015 CECS Dean’s Award for Indigenous Education for Curricula to incorporate Indigenous knowledge into engineering
  • 2015 ANU Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Programs that Enhance Learning for Engaging with Community - Partnerships for Humanitarian Engineering at ANU
  • 2014 CECS Dean’s Award for Excellence in Education for Contributions to Programs that Enhance Learning for Engaging with Community  Development of Community-Centred Engineering Opportunities



Updated:  10 August 2021/Responsible Officer:  Dean, CECS/Page Contact:  CECS Marketing