Engineering PhD students receive prestigious Chinese Government Award

Monday 22 May 2017

Five PhD students from the ANU Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering are the recipients of the Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-Financed Students Abroad.

The highly competitive award is sponsored by the Chinese Ministry of Education and aims to encourage research excellence through recognition of top Chinese PhD students studying abroad.

The students were presented with the Awards at a ceremony at the Chinese Embassy in Canberra last Friday, 19 May. 

With over 500,000 Chinese students studying abroad each year, the award is presented to only 500 students, the top 0.1%, making it highly competitive. 

Recent PhD graduate and now Research Fellow in the Networked Systems Area at the ANU Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering, Dr Zhiyong Sun, felt honoured to receive the award. 

“I feel very honoured and excited to be selected as one of the receipts in the 2016 round. It’s almost become a tradition in the Networked Systems Area, as my supervisor, Brad Yu, was also a recipient of this award 10 years ago.”

Director of the ANU Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineeering, Professor Saman Halgamuge, has congratulated the students on their achievement. 

“Congratulations to the students who have received this international award. 

“The proportion of awards received by the Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering is a testimony to the quality of the Chinese students, as well their supervisors in the School."

Congratulations to all five students:

  • Dr Zhiyong Sun, and his PhD supervisors: Professor Brian Anderson, Associate Professor Brad Yu, and Dr Adrian Bishop 
  • Mr Peiting Zheng, and his PhD supervisors: Professor Daniel MacDonald and Dr Fiacre Rougieux
  • Ms Shuang Zhang, and her PhD supervisors: Professor Qinghua Qin, Associate Professor Yuerui Lu, Dr Adrian Edward Lowe and Professor Roderick William Boswell
  • Dr Jing Guo, and her PhD supervisors: Dr Salman Durrani and Dr Xiangyun Zhou
  • Dr Pan Ji, and his supervisors: Associate Professor Hongdong Li, Dr Mathieu Salzmann and Dr Xuming He

Updated:  10 August 2021/Responsible Officer:  Dean, CECS/Page Contact:  CECS Marketing