ANU wins 10 ARC linkage grants projects

Fri 6 May 2016

ANU wins 10 ARC linkage grants projects
ANU wins 10 ARC linkage grants projects

The Australian National University (ANU) has won $3.7 million of funding for 10 linkage projects in the latest round of the Australian Research Council’s grants.

The Linkage Projects Scheme supports collaborative research and development projects between universities and business to deliver breakthroughs to solve real world problems.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt AC congratulated the grant winners.

“The linkage grants are a great example of how university researchers collaborate with industry to help improve the lives of people in Australia and across the world,” Professor Schmidt said.

Successful linkage grants projects are:

  • Professor Thushara Abhayapala, Adjunct Professor Glenn Dickins and Dr Wen Zhang, to test alternative listening devices to hearing aids which are rapidly becoming cheaper and more accessible to the public: $318,000.
  • Associate Professor Jodie Bradby, Professor Jim Williams and Dr Oden Warren, to test electrical properties in semiconductors: $360,000.
  • Dr Andrew Hogg, Professor Matthew England, Dr Gary Brassington, Dr Petra Heil, Dr Peter Oke, Dr J. Paul Spence and Dr Maxim Nikurashin, to develop a world-class global ocean-sea ice model framework through a nationwide consortium to improve the accuracy of predictions of changes in climate, sea level and ocean ecosystems: $598,000.
  • Professor Byron Keating, Professor Roland Goecke, Professor Shirley Gregor, Professor John Campbell, Dr Dale Roberts, Dr Armin Haller, Professor Simon Restubog and Professor Shirley Leitch, to develop an automated suicide risk detection system for railways: $450,000.
  • Professor David Lindenmayer, Professor Alan Welsh and Dr Damian Michael, to test effective ways to restore and manage vegetation on farms: $522,000.
  • Associate Professor Malcolm McLeod and Mr Mark Jarrett, to develop strategies to detect designer steroids in racing greyhounds: $425,000.
  • Dr David Powell, Professor Dragomir Neshev, Dr Ilya Shadrivov, Dr Haroldo Hattori, Dr Thiemo Spielmann and Professor Yuri Kivshar, to develop improved radar systems for navigation and surround monitoring in vehicles: $207,000.
  • Dr Horst Punzmann, Professor Michael Shats, Dr Hua Xia and Mr Sam Harvey, to develop technology for debris and spill containment: $228,684.
  • Professor Miranda Stewart, Dr Nicholas Biddle, Professor Robert Breunig, Dr Mathias Sinning, Dr Gary Issar and Ms Catherine Griffin, to improve compliance and payment in the Australian taxation system: $217,000.
  • Associate Professor Lyndall Strazdins, Associate Professor Catherine Banwell, Dr Gemma Carey, Dr Dina Bowman, Associate Professor Peter Butterworth, Dr Su Mon Kyaw-Myint, Mr Peter Thorning, Dr Peng Yu and Associate Professor Shelley Mallett, to develop policies to respond to an older workforce: $408,000.

ANU and UNSW also secured funding for an industrial transformation training centre, known as the ARC Training Centre for Automated Manufacture of Advanced Composites.

The Centre will train and develop researchers with the ability to help improve Australia’s carbon composites manufacturing industry.

ANU researchers involved in the training centre are Dr Paul Compston, Professor Tim Senden and Associate Professor Shannon Notley.

This article was originally published at the ANU Media Newsroom

arrow-left bars search caret-down plus minus arrow-right times